PDA

View Full Version : No readyRead() signal from SerialPort, but (seemingly) same code works in another app

davethomaspilot
24th September 2013, 16:24
I've been using the QtSerialPort add-on with no issues for about 9 months in one application. But, when I use what I think is the same code in another application, I don't get the readyRead() signal when bytes have been sent to the serial port.

I'm stuck on how to debug why it's not firing.

No message is issued when the connect statement is executed. When I have a typo in a signal or slot name, I've seen error messages. So, I think that means the connect was ok.

The open on the port succeeds along with configuration of the communication parameters, but a breakpoint on the first line of readData is never hit. Here's the relevant code:

in main.h:

class MainWindow : public QMainWindow, public Ui_MainWindow
{
Q_OBJECT

public:
MainWindow(QWidget *parent=0);
SerialPort *serial;
private slots:
void writeData(const QByteArray &data);
void readData();
}

in main.cpp:

MainWindow::MainWindow(QWidget *parent) :
QMainWindow(parent)
{
setupUi(this);

serial = new SerialPort(this);

if (serial_port_settings->setCurrentPort("COM47"))
openSerialPort();

QObject::connect(serial, SIGNAL(readyRead()), this, SLOT(readData()));

}
void MainWindow::openSerialPort()
{

SettingsDialog::Settings p = serial_port_settings->settings();

serial->setPort(p.name);
if (serial->open(QIODevice::ReadWrite)) {
if (serial->setRate(p.rate)
&& serial->setDataBits(p.dataBits)
&& serial->setParity(p.parity)
&& serial->setStopBits(p.stopBits)
&& serial->setFlowControl(p.flowControl)) {

statusbar->showMessage(tr("Connected to %1 : %2, %3, %4, %5, %6")
.arg(p.name).arg(p.stringRate).arg(p.stringDataBit s)
.arg(p.stringParity).arg(p.stringStopBits).arg(p.s tringFlowControl));

} else {
serial->close();
QMessageBox::critical(this, tr("Error"),
tr("Can't configure the serial port: %1,\n"
"error code: %2")
.arg(p.name).arg(serial->error()));