PDA

View Full Version : Modifying ui elements of one dialog from another dialog.

harvey_slash
5th October 2013, 14:36
I am a total newbie. I have this doubt

suppose one has to change text
We use:

ui->lineEdit->setText("hello world") ;

for inside .cpp of any window, we use the above.

But if I want to setText of one dialog from another window,how do I do that?
I have a dialog called 'dialog',which has a lineEdit called "qwerty".
How to set text of qwerty from another window,say MainWindow?

toufic.dbouk
5th October 2013, 15:19
Hello,
Use Signals and Slots. Same logic as your previous post.
for example, emit a signal (from mainwindow) holding the QString that you wanna set from main window to the QDialog,
catch the emitted signal by connecting it to a slot that you should create in the QDailog.

QDialog *mDialog = new QDialog(this);
connect(this,SIGNAL(sendText(QString)),mDialog,SLO T(getText(QString)));
the Slot getText should be something like:

getText(QString txt)
{
ui->qwerty->setText("txt");
}

harvey_slash
5th October 2013, 16:16
I am totally new to signal slot, could you tell me what exactly is happening in your code ?
What is sendText?

toufic.dbouk
5th October 2013, 16:35
Sure ill tell you whats happening in English
lets take your example, you have a main window and dialog , and you want to change the text of a line edit in the dialog upon an event that happens in the main window.
lets say you want to press a button in the main window , and upon pressing it you want to set a specific text in that line edit of the dialog.
so to do that in signals and slots , when pressing the button emit a signal holding a QString. now this signal is emitted , so you have to catch it somewhere. Here comes the role of the connect , you connect that signal to a slot in the dialog. So that when the signal is emitted that dialog can catch it and perform an action according to it by the connected slot.

connect(this,SIGNAL(sendText(QString)),mDialog,SLO T(getText(QString)));