PDA

View Full Version : thread syncronization

havij000
11th November 2013, 11:20
Hi every body,

I am new to qt, and now I am writing a network application program with 3 threads additional to the main gui thread.
one thread sniff the lan and recieve ethernet packets, one of the other thread process the data and inorder the recieved data and the last one is sending data to another computer through LAN by TCP sockets.

The problem that I have is that, I dont know how I should inform the other thread that the data is completed and it should send it through the LAN????
:crying::confused:

Thanks

toufic.dbouk
11th November 2013, 18:12
When the thread is done processing data and ready to send emit a signal, catch it in the other thread or your main thread and then throw it again for the specific thread, depending on your implementation and design. So basically its a matter of Signals and Slots.

Good Luck.

anda_skoa
11th November 2013, 18:23
Are you sure you want that many threads?

E.g. why have a thread for sending?

Anyway, there are a number of ways to move data between threads, the most convenient one is Qt signal/slots.

Cheers,
_

havij000
12th November 2013, 11:12
yes I need this number of thread, I need a thread to send data through LAN to a remote computer by tcp protocol.
I dont want to send data between threads, I just want to inform the send thread about the completion of process task. and after informing the send thread force it to send the data.

Added after 15 minutes:

I have already use signal and slot but unfortunately it does not work. The precess thread emit but the solt in the send thread does not work.

toufic.dbouk
12th November 2013, 16:49
Yes Signals and Slots is a way to inform about status of threads example when a thread is done its task inform other threads that it is done.

I have already use signal and slot but unfortunately it does not work. The precess thread emit but the solt in the send thread does not work.