PDA

View Full Version : Hey :: I am a new Member,

:db:sStrong
8th February 2006, 16:56
Hello boys and girls,

I am a new member in this forum and i am a beginner in QT world. Any help would be appreciated.... So dont make fun of my stupid questionsssssssssssssssss ;)

hope to learn alot from u guys.

bye bye

:db:

McToo
8th February 2006, 17:01
Welcome to QtCentre!

I don't think anyone will make fun of questions, we were all learners once - even though some of us can't remember being such... (what's my name?) ;)

McToo

michel
9th February 2006, 14:17
http://www.digitalfanatics.org/projects/qt_tutorial/ is a good place to start. Just make sure to do the examples at the end of each chapter (you will probably need to open the QT API reference in a second window/tab) to try and learn the classes and methods not explicitly used in the tutorial. It also is good to make empty projects and just play around with all of the widgets and make them interact so you get used to how things work. Too many people, I think, try to make their first "practice" program something like a scientific calculator or Tetris or a full-featured desktop publisher or something and wind up quitting because it is more of a bite than they could chew, when they are better off starting with "the program to make buttons 1 through 9 fill a LineEdit widget with the value and worrying about the math when this becomes easy" or "animate a square falling and knowing what the boundaries of its container are then learning how to catch signals from the keyboard" or "putting text into a window and writing it to a file stream then trying to make the program open existing files instead." We all want to do something cool and great, but if it takes you twenty minutes to do any of those first three things, you'd better wait until it takes you five or fewer.