PDA

View Full Version : How to paint an image with transparent background?

Nicho
10th December 2013, 03:47
Hi,
I am a newbie for QT.And I want to know the usual way to paint an image with transparent background by using QPainter.
eg. to paint a line on the transparent background.

Santosh Reddy
10th December 2013, 05:50
I want to know the usual way to paint an image with transparent background by using QPainter.
Background being transparent or opaque does not change the way to use QPainter. Draw the same way as if the background was opaque.

Refer DrawLine (http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5.1/qtgui/qpainter.html#drawLine)
Refer Basic Drawing Example (http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5.1/qtwidgets/painting-basicdrawing.html)

Nicho
10th December 2013, 06:47
Santosh Reddy,
Thank you for your reply.
I am not sure whether the way I want to implement my application is reasonable. Here I will try to explain it.Hope your advice.
I will build a viewlayer tree.For each viewlayer in the tree, I set a cache which is a QImage that I will draw all the items of the current viewlayer on.
Then at last, I render the images one by one on the root viewlayer's cache image which will be painted on the widget finally.
Based on that thought, I need to draw each image of the viewlayer as transparent.
But before I have made a test by creating a QImage and draw a line on it, like below:

void MyWidget::paintEvent ( QPaintEvent * event )
{
QImage a( width(), height(), QImage::Format_ARGB32_Premultiplied );
QPainter p;
p.begin( &a );
p.drawLine(...);
p.end();
p.begin( this );
p.drawImage( 0, 0, a );
p.end();
}

But, while resizing the widget, the image shown is muddledness.
So what shall I do?

Background being transparent or opaque does not change the way to use QPainter. Draw the same way as if the background was opaque.

Refer DrawLine (http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5.1/qtgui/qpainter.html#drawLine)