PDA

View Full Version : Q_DECLARE_METATYPE(T); error

SentaVera
2nd January 2014, 07:33
Hi,

First of all, I am new to Qt and this forum. Looking forward to learn and contribute to this community! :)

I followed the example code for registering user custom Qt class found in this link (http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/custom-types.html)

and getting this error

C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int

the error appear when I tried to use the macro Q_DECLARE_METATYPE, it seems that the compiler doesn't recognize the class Message.

Code

#ifndef MESSAGE_H
#define MESSAGE_H

#include <QString>

class Message
{
public:
Message();
Message(const Message &other);
~Message();

Message(const QString &name);

QString getName()const;
void setName(const QString &name);

private:
QString name_;

};

Q_DECLARE_METATYPE(Message); //Error point at here

#endif // MESSAGE_H

It has the default constructor, copy constructor and destructor as required or i missing something here?

Regards
Soon

ChrisW67
2nd January 2014, 07:49
What is the context of the error message?
What source file is being compiled when the error is output?

SentaVera
2nd January 2014, 07:59
source file

#include "message.h"

{
}

{
name_=other.name_;
}

{

}

{
setName(name);
}

QString Message::getName() const
{
return name_;
}

void Message::setName(const QString &name)
{
name_ = name;
}

After some search on google, I had found the solution in other similar issue.. link (http://www.qtforum.org/article/25606/strange-compile-error-using-q-declare-metatype.html?7045c938#post90264)

it seems that i need to include a header file of QMetaType, which the tutorial didnt mention about it. Strange thing macro is still defined without the header file..

thank anyway! :)

anda_skoa
2nd January 2014, 15:40
Strange thing macro is still defined without the header file..

It is not. Which is the error you got.