PDA

View Full Version : qt4 compilation problem

aegis
20th February 2007, 23:30
hi, i am new to using qt4...

i have installed qt4 opensource edition and i have also installed ms visual studio 2005...

i try to compile some source code {from the command line} using

qmake -project

qmake project_name.pro

and i get varius compilation errors....

The code that i try to compile is correct because, i basically try to run the examples from "C++ GUI Programming with Qt 4" book....what am i doing wrong, is there a possible conflict betweetn qt and ms visual studio??

plz help!

jacek
21st February 2007, 00:00
is there a possible conflict betweetn qt and ms visual studio??
Yes, the Open Source version for windows works only with MinGW (at least officially).

http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-installation-5/t-qt-410-on-visual-studio-2005-2889.html

aegis
21st February 2007, 00:03
Yes, the Open Source version for windows works only with MinGW (at least officially).

http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-installation-5/t-qt-410-on-visual-studio-2005-2889.html
but i dont want to use qt with visual studio...i just want to use qt,without uninstalling visual studio...

jacek
21st February 2007, 00:38
i just want to use qt,without uninstalling visual studio...
Oh, I see... in such case there shouldn't be any problem. If you have MinGW installed and Qt knows where it is, it should be enough if you start "Qt 4.x.y Command Prompt" (there should be a link in Start menu) --- it will set your environment correctly.

aegis
21st February 2007, 13:27
unfortunatelly it doesn't work.....and get varius errors.....

aegis
21st February 2007, 13:33
i installed qt4 on another computer with no visual studio, and finally i was able to build the hello qt program!!!

now i am trying another example from the book C++ gui programming with Qt4 and it also gives me compilation errors...

#include <QApplication>
#include <QDialog>
#include "ui_gotocelldialog.h"
int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{