PDA

View Full Version : Menu palette question

smacchia
21st February 2007, 17:47
Hi,

First I am new to the qcentre forums and I would like to introduce myself. My name is Susan and am fairly new to Qt4 (I've experience with Qt3); I have been working with it for the last couple of months.

I am working on a prototype and have to apply custom colors to almost everything. This is really easy to do with ColorRoles, etc. in widget palettes. But I have been stumped when trying to apply a color to a popup or pulldown menu.

For example, the menu that is displayed when a combo box is activated needs a specific color. I haven't been able to figure out how to do that. When I access the backgroundRole or foregroundRole of the QAbstractItemView (via the ::view() method), it is Window and WindowText respectively, and when set the view's palette (setting these roles to different colors) I get no change in color!

Any hints on what needs to be done for menus?

Much appreciated in advance,
Susan Macchia

jpn
21st February 2007, 17:54
Hi, welcome on board! ;)

QPalette p = comboBox->view()->palette();
p.setColor(QPalette::Base, Qt::red);
comboBox->view()->setPalette(p);

smacchia
21st February 2007, 19:12
Thank you. Unfortunately that didn't work. Neither did:

QAbstractItemView *v = combo->view();
QPalette p;
p.setColor(QPalette::Base, Qt::red);
p.setColor(QPalette::Text, Qt::white);
view->setPalette(palette);

I see a brief flash of the red only on the selected item. Then it goes back to the default. The menu itself (apart from the selected item) is not affected by the color choice.

I tried ::setColor with all the roles to no avail...

Any other pointers?

Thanks much.
Susan

jpn
21st February 2007, 20:21
Oh, you are running GNOME? Seems like it indeed doesn't work with the cleanlooks style.. Stylesheets introduced in 4.2 usually are a solution to palette problems, but even this doesn't work:

comboBox->setStyleSheet("QAbstractItemView { background: yellow }");