PDA

View Full Version : qvtkwidget crashes when it is used inside a slot, please help

Adem
24th January 2014, 14:12
Hi all,

I have a strange problem regarding the behaviour of QVVKWidegt.

In my GUI I used a widget which is promoted to qvtkwidget inorder to visualize a 3D image.
I want the visualisation to start when I click a button (okbutton), for that, I have made signal slot connection as follows:
connect(ui->okButton, SIGNAL(clicked()),this, SLOT(VisualizeVolumes);
my code is built without any error however when I click the okbutton, I got an access violation at runtime.

When I call VisualizeVolumes as function(without slot)it works fine and even if I do the visualisation just after line ui->setupUi(this), it works as well.The crash happen only when I try to put VisualizeVolumes as slot.

I am a newbie to qt so please can you help? I am really stack and could not move?

I have attached my files for your attention

I am using itk4.4.2 vtk6 and Qt4.8.5
Thanks,
Adem

anda_skoa
24th January 2014, 14:49
Have you checked the two involved pointers? I.e. ui->vtkwidget and ui->vtkwidget->GetRenderWindow()
Are the both != 0?

What does the crash tell you, what is the stack trace?

Cheers,
_

Adem
24th January 2014, 17:32
Thanks for your reply:
this is what I get as a message:

Unhandled exception at 0x5c3d4a9a (vtkRenderingCore-6.0.dll) in main.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000000.

and it points me to line 40 of vtkRendererCollection.cxx :

firstRen = this->GetNextRenderer(rsit);
if (firstRen == NULL)
{
// We cannot determine the number of layers because there are no
// renderers. No problem, just return.
return;
}
renWin = firstRen->GetRenderWindow();
line 40: numLayers = renWin->GetNumberOfLayers();

Sorry I am new in c++, qt, and programming , ehat do you mean by stack trace?

THanks
Adem

Added after 18 minutes:

I just checked and both pointer are not Null !

ChrisW67
24th January 2014, 21:13