PDA

View Full Version : Question about qt objects deletion

MI
14th February 2014, 09:23
Hello everyone i am a newbie to this form and to qt world and i have a simple question which is how to make my class auto deletes its members by accepting a parent

class Myform : public QWidget
{
Q_OBJECT

public:

Myform()
{
b=new QPushButton("OK",this);
l=new QLineEdit(this);
mylabel=new QLabel(this);
}

~Myform()
{

}

private:

QPushButton *b;
QLineEdit *l;
QLabel *mylabel;

};

wysota
14th February 2014, 09:45
Just like you do in lines 9-11 -- pass the widget pointer as the last argument to every child. Similarily you can modify your constructor to accept a QObject pointer and call the base class implementation where you will pass this pointer to QWidget constructor.

MI
14th February 2014, 10:01
can you please modify the class and show me what do you mean with " pass this pointer to QWidget constructor " and thanks in advance

anda_skoa
14th February 2014, 11:50
MyForm(QWidget *parent = 0) : QWidget(parent)
{
}

Btw, you class already deletes its children, this modification is for making instance of your class being deleted by their parents.

Cheers,
_

MI
14th February 2014, 11:57
MyForm(QWidget *parent = 0) : QWidget(parent) i sow this expression many times and i didn't get it ....can you explaine please
and what do you mean by the class already deletes its children
and last i am sorry about those too many questions i am a confused newbie:confused:

anda_skoa
14th February 2014, 14:11
MyForm(QWidget *parent = 0) : QWidget(parent) i sow this expression many times and i didn't get it ....can you explaine please

This is a constructor of a C++ class called MyForm.
It takes one argument of type QWidget*, named parent, and has a default value of 0.
The parent argument is passed on to the base class constructor.

and what do you mean by the class already deletes its children