PDA

View Full Version : QT 4.2.2 Opensource on Vista



invictus
27th February 2007, 16:43
Hi

I have earlier installed QT4 with no problems on win xp sp2, but when I tried it on Vista I got problems during mingw32-make.

These are the last lines:

gcc -c -O2 -O2 -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_BOOTSTRAPPED -DQT_RCC
-DQT_LITE_UNICODE -DQT_NO_DATASTREAM -DQT_NO_THREAD -DQT_NO_QOBJECT -DQT_NO_UNI
CODETABLES -DQT_NO_LIBRARY -DQT_NO_SYSTEMLOCALE -DQT_NODLL -I"..\..\corelib\arch
\generic" -I"C:/Qt/4.2.2/include" -I"." -I"C:/Qt/4.2.2/include/QtCore" -I"C:/Qt/
4.2.2/include/QtXml" -I"..\..\3rdparty\zlib" -I"." -I"..\..\..\mkspecs\win32-g++
" -o tmp\obj\release_shared\adler32.o ..\..\3rdparty\zlib\adler32.c
gcc: installation problem, cannot exec `cc1': No such file or directory
mingw32-make[3]: *** [tmp\obj\release_shared\adler32.o] Error 1
mingw32-make[3]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/4.2.2/src/tools/rcc'
mingw32-make[2]: *** [release] Error 2
mingw32-make[2]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/4.2.2/src/tools/rcc'
mingw32-make[1]: *** [sub-tools_rcc-make_default] Error 2
mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Qt/4.2.2/src'
mingw32-make: *** [sub-src-make_default-ordered] Error 2


For the record, both mingw/bin and qt/4.2.2/bin is in the path.

ChristianEhrlicher
28th February 2007, 07:36
And where is cc1.exe?
This doesn't look like a vista problem but like a problem with your MinGW installation. Try to reinstall gcc-core & gcc-c++ .

invictus
28th February 2007, 16:47
I am using the mingw installation that trolltech provided during the QT install. I do not have cc1 it seems, and I have no idea why. Will try to install in win xp again later today to check if its the installer that is bugged or just vista.

invictus
1st March 2007, 17:38
I just tried doing the same install on an Win XP machine and it worked...so I am pretty sure Vista is to blame for this (or perhaps trolltech or mingw for lack of Vista support).

ChristianEhrlicher
1st March 2007, 17:47
When there is no cc1.exe around, you have to blame the installer.Try to reinstall Qt on Vista to see if cc1.exe is really not installed.

invictus
1st March 2007, 20:04
When there is no cc1.exe around, you have to blame the installer.Try to reinstall Qt on Vista to see if cc1.exe is really not installed.

You would think, but since I am using the _same_ installer on both XP and Vista, you would also assume that the same gets installed...

I still get the error on Vista after 4 more tries, but XP nails it every time.

ChristianEhrlicher
1st March 2007, 20:13
You would think, but since I am using the _same_ installer on both XP and Vista, you would also assume that the same gets installed...
Normally yes - but not in this case. Strange :confused:

invictus
1st March 2007, 22:24
Normally yes - but not in this case. Strange :confused:

Perhaps I should just wait for QT 4.3...by then I assume Vista is more common and the installer take that into account.

ChristianEhrlicher
1st March 2007, 22:57
Or install MinGW directly from mingw.org

invictus
2nd March 2007, 00:24
Or install MinGW directly from mingw.org

Actually I just did a check. The cc1.exe is installed and is in the same folder on both machines. Wonder why vista fails still.

minimoog
5th March 2007, 21:44
Run as administrator?

invictus
5th March 2007, 23:20
Run as administrator?

Both QT and MingW is installed with Run as administrator.

I even configure and mingw32-make from a console window that is run as administrator.

minimoog
6th March 2007, 02:53
Same here. Same error. I also tried 3.4.5 version from mingw site, I couldn't even start configure (similar error, missing cc1plus.exe), so I put the in the enviroment path the cc1plus.exe path (In my case it is C:\MinGW\libexec\gcc\mingw32\3.4.5) and worked. Somehow in Vista, mingw doesn't recognize folders....This is a mingw bug and someone might try to report the bug to the mingw team.

So, the solution is to put in the "enviroment path" the path to cc1.exe and cc1plus.exe.

invictus
6th March 2007, 12:36
So, the solution is to put in the "enviroment path" the path to cc1.exe and cc1plus.exe.

This seem to work! However, I am not impressed with the way this have to be handeled. I hope Mingw fix this OR that trolltech release a fixed version as the QT/Mingw bundle.

ModeZt
7th January 2008, 15:23
Same here. Same error. I also tried 3.4.5 version from mingw site, I couldn't even start configure (similar error, missing cc1plus.exe), so I put the in the enviroment path the cc1plus.exe path (In my case it is C:\MinGW\libexec\gcc\mingw32\3.4.5) and worked. Somehow in Vista, mingw doesn't recognize folders....This is a mingw bug and someone might try to report the bug to the mingw team.

So, the solution is to put in the "enviroment path" the path to cc1.exe and cc1plus.exe.

Damn! 4.3.3 is out, but this trouble is still not fixed. Just wasted some time on fixing it under Vista.
The better way IMO is to edit the
C:\Qt\4.3.3\bin\qtvars.bat
and add this line:
set PATH=%PATH%;C:\MinGW\libexec\gcc\mingw32\3.4.5

ChristianEhrlicher
7th January 2008, 15:27
As this is not a Qt bug I wonder why it should/could be fixed with Qt4.3.3... :confused:

ModeZt
8th January 2008, 03:54
Because i downloaded the compleate solid package from Trolltech Site. MinGW + QT.
I clicked on "install" and that's all. After that i'm supposed to get a ready-to-work instrument.
This instrument is working on XP, but not on Vista.

Helmut Hönig
29th January 2008, 16:33
I just ran into the same frustrating problems and I probably found a workaround. There seems to be a vista patch for gcc-3.4.5 around, that helped me. But I could not use the MinGW selected by qt-4.3.3.

Anyway, the following recipe worked fine for me and I just built the debug libraries without any error messages :)

download MinGW-5.1.3.exe
download gcc-vista-3.4.5-20060117-1.tar.gz
download qt-win-opensource-4.3.3-mingw.exe

install MinGW with g++ & make selected, which implicitly downloads:
- binutils-2.17.50-20060824-1.tar.gz
- gcc-core-3.4.5-20060117-1.tar.gz
- gcc-g++-3.4.5-20060117-1.tar.gz
- w32api-3.10.tar.gz
extract gcc-vista-3.4.5-20060117-1.tar.gz into the MinGW location

install qt-win-opensource-4.3.3-mingw.exe
select "existing MinGW" and ignore w32api.h error message

build debug libraries