PDA

View Full Version : New to QT, How do I remove dependencies to QT .dll files?

Fazor
29th March 2014, 12:10
Hello qt community!

I've been programming for a while in C++, and I finally discovered this awesome thing called QT. It's very beautiful, easy, and fun to use. I've been programming in Visual Studio ever since I began, but for many reasons I wanted to remove .NET from my gui applications, so I downloaded the QT creator.

I have one small issue, when I try to run built .exe files from QT, I get a bunch of errors saying that .dll files such as "Qt5Widgets.dll" being required in the same folder to run the application. I'm assuming these files are from some sort of SDK? However, I do not want to jam all of those files into the same folder as the .exe I am creating, is there any way to statically link those into the build so I can just run the .exe by itself? I've done some google searching, but again I am new to QT so I don't fully understand the whole linking process yet. If anyone could give me an in-depth answer on how I can achieve this, I will be forever grateful.

Thanks!

adutzu89
29th March 2014, 12:44
Here is the best explanation for deploying applications-> https://qt-project.org/doc/qt-5.0/qtdoc/deployment.html
The .dll files are libraries which can be found in Qt's installation folder.

Static linking is where you merge all your needed libraries inside the executable file making it bigger in size.
Shared libraries is where you deploy the needed libraries with your executable file.

Both have ups and downs which are explained in the link above, the main issue with static linking is that the executable file will be bigger, depending on your application, but you won't have issues of library files wouldn't be compatible if you release a newer version for the application.