PDA

View Full Version : QTreeWidget Drag and drop

zell99
2nd March 2007, 16:50
Hi, this is my first post here. I'm new to QT and I have to do special things with my QTreeWidget reguarding Drag and drop.

When I drop an item, I need to make a verification before it is "finalized". I need to know exactly which functions need to be reimplemented? I couldn't find good examples for this.

Do I need to play with Events? (mouseMoveEvent, mousePressEvent, dragMoveEvent?)
QDrag and QMimeData? (dropMimeData() ?)

I made a new class MyTreeWidget() : public QTreeWidget() so I can reimplement some of these functions, but I'm not sure which ones I should use. I need to have access to the QTreeWidgetItem that is being dragged and the one on which it is dropped (so the validation will be done when it's dropped).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

wysota
2nd March 2007, 20:16
You need to reimplement dropMimeData and possibly dragEnterEvent and dragMoveEvent (but it depends when you want to do the check).

fullmetalcoder
2nd March 2007, 20:28
I made a new class MyTreeWidget() : public QTreeWidget() so I can reimplement some of these functions, but I'm not sure which ones I should use. I need to have access to the QTreeWidgetItem that is being dragged and the one on which it is dropped (so the validation will be done when it's dropped).!
The function you have to reimplement is obviously dropMimeData(). It gives you an access to the target item but not directly to the dragged one(s). There are two ways to workaround this :

Reimplementing mimeData(QList<QTreeWidgetItem*>) so that proper (custom) QMimeData object is created when dragging and retrieving and item list from it
using the list of selectedItems()Hope this helps. :)

zell99
6th March 2007, 18:11
Thanks for your answers this far.