PDA

View Full Version : Comparison of objects from QList

Rich1234
19th June 2014, 19:21
Hi guys, I'm really new to Qt and I am wondering if there is a way to compare a passed item to the an entire QList.

An example of what I am trying to do is as follows:

class gnyComponentList:public QList<gnyComponent>
{
protected:
virtual int compareItems ( QPtrCollection::Item item1, QPtrCollection::Item item2 )
{ return (((gnyComponent *)item1)->getID()).compare(((gnyComponent *)item2)->getID());}
};

This worked with older versions of Qt, but from what I have read so far I can't use QPtrCollection any more.
Note: I am not looking to compare 2 lists to each other, just receive a value and compare it to the list to see if it is there.

Thanks in advance for any help!

stampede
19th June 2014, 20:19
receive a value and compare it to the list to see if it is there.
maybe with std::find_if :

//btw. I'd rather use private inheritance (if any), in order to prevent gnuComponentList* to QList<gnyComponent>* conversions
// (QList destructor is not virtual)
class gnyComponentList:private QList<gnyComponent>
{
protected:
virtual bool containsItem( gnyComponent * item )
{
const auto it = std::find_if(begin(),
end(),
[&](const gnyComponent& cmp){
return cmp.getID().compare(item->getID()) == 0; // i dont know when gnyComponents are equal exactly
});
return it!=end();
}
};

Alternatively if you can change gnyComponent class, you can implement "operator==" and use QList::contains:

class gnyComponentList:private QList<gnyComponent>
{
protected:
virtual bool containsItem( gnyComponent * item )
{
return contains(*item); // requres gnyComponent to have an implementation of "operator=="
}
};

anda_skoa
20th June 2014, 09:33
What do you need it for?

The main use case for compareItems() in older Qt versions was specify a comparison criterial when sorting a list.

In Qt4 and onwards one can specify "less than" function at qSort() and achieve the same thing.

Cheers,
_

Rich1234