PDA

View Full Version : The best way to study OpenGL in Qt

8Observer8
4th August 2014, 06:54
Hi

I am new in OpenGL in Qt. Please, show me the simple way in writing Qt application with OpenGL. Maybe a very good tutorials.

I think that 3D graphics is very inportant in modern application for "consumer and business applications". I read it in "OpenGL SuperBible"

OpenGL is used for various purposes, from CAD engineering and architectural applications to modeling programs used to create computer-generated monsters and machines in blockbuster movies. The introduction of an industry-standard 3D API to mass-market operating systems such as Microsoft Windows and the Macintosh OS X has some exciting repercussions. With hardware acceleration and fast PC microprocessors now common-place, 3D graphics have become standard components of consumer and business applications, not only of games and scientific applications.

Thank you in advance!

wysota
4th August 2014, 07:25
OpenGL with Qt is exactly the same as OpenGL without Qt. There are a couple of OpenGL example bundled with Qt, you may start with those.

8Observer8
4th August 2014, 15:02
Thank you! DirectX 11 is more simple. I will start from it. And I will study:
- DirectX 11 and C#
- OpenGL and Qt
- JavaFX 3D Graphics

Here https://netbeans.org/kb/trails/matisse.html I found the good tutorial. Move "Tutorials and Articles" -> "JavaFX 8 Developer Preview" -> "Getting Started with JavaFX 3D Graphics" And you will find: http://docs.oracle.com/javafx/8/3d_graphics/jfxpub-3d_graphics.htm

d_stranz
4th August 2014, 19:36
I can't see how studying three completely different 3D graphics systems (in 3 different programming languages) will help you learn about OpenGL and Qt. About all it will do is get you completely confused.

Stick to one of them. If you know C++, then OpenGL and Qt will be the best start.

8Observer8
4th August 2014, 19:55