PDA

View Full Version : Help linking and using libs in simple project

Mentok
13th September 2014, 00:22
Hello,

I am very new to QT and having trouble with a particular issue understanding how importing libs works in Qt. I have a very simple default Qt project for the MinGW compiler and I need to use a custom string class compiled in Visual Studio 2008. (I don't have access to the source, and there are other libs I need to work besides this one as well).

#-------------------------------------------------
#
# Project created by QtCreator 2014-09-12T09:46:39
#
#-------------------------------------------------

QT += core gui

greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets

TARGET = QtNVCDemo
TEMPLATE = app

SOURCES += main.cpp\
mainwindow.cpp

HEADERS += mainwindow.h

FORMS += mainwindow.ui

win32: LIBS += -L$$PWD/../build-QtDemo-Desktop_Qt_5_3_MinGW_32bit-Debug/debug/ -lSString-4

INCLUDEPATH += $$PWD/../build-QtDemo-Desktop_Qt_5_3_MinGW_32bit-Debug/debug
DEPENDPATH += $$PWD/../build-QtDemo-Desktop_Qt_5_3_MinGW_32bit-Debug/debug

win32:!win32-g++: PRE_TARGETDEPS += $$PWD/../build-QtDemo-Desktop_Qt_5_3_MinGW_32bit-Debug/debug/SString-4.lib
else:win32-g++: PRE_TARGETDEPS += $$PWD/../build-QtDemo-Desktop_Qt_5_3_MinGW_32bit-Debug/debug/libSString-4.a

I get this error

:-1: error: No rule to make target 'C:/Users/bereall/QtDemo/../build-QtDemo-Desktop_Qt_5_3_MinGW_32bit-Debug/debug/libSString-4.a', needed by 'debug\QtDemo.exe'. Stop.

The import lines were done trying to link a static lib using the wizard. What are .a libs and how do you create them? If I try changing the Sstring-4.a to the lib which I have it just says the same error? Trying to compile without the target dependencies lines works but then when I try to create a SString class or add the header to my project it doesn't recognize SString. Do I have to use libs created with the same compiler or can I import other libs?