PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Projects with ancient Qt Designer (3.1)

cooperman
24th September 2014, 11:30
Hi Guys,

First let me say that I've been programming for more years than I care to remember, however I'm brand new to Qt.
I’m having to support some old software that runs on HP-UX and was produced using Qt Designer 3.1 (Qt 3.1.2) (looks to be about 2003 vintage). (Please note that for various reasons, a decision has been made to stick with this version, so please don’t tell me to use the latest version).

I know I'll have lots of questions, but my first one is to do with the relationship between Projects and other components (specifically 'Main Window' and 'Dialog').

I sort of expected that I could create a Project with all of my GUI files within it, (like in Visual Studio). So what I did was…
New -> ‘C++ Project’
I called it Adhoc
Then I wanted to create the main window, so…
New -> ‘Main Window’
I called it ‘Adhoc Main’
When I close Qt Designer and reopen the ‘Adhoc’ project I expected that it would also open ‘Adhoc Main’, but no, it shows the Adhoc project in a little box on the toolbar, but the ‘Adhoc Main’ form doesn’t open.
There’s a menu option under ‘Project’ called ‘Add File’. I’ve tried adding ‘Adhoc Main’ to the project using this option, but the ‘Adhoc Main’ form still doesn’t get opened when I open the project.

Any ideas?

Many thanks

Gary

Added after 42 minutes:

OK, so I've got it listing my forms when I open the project, however I had to move the files around and manually edit Adhoc.pro to get it working...
Directory layout (new names)...
Adhoc/Adhoc.pro
Adhoc/frmAdhocMain.ui
Adhoc/frmAddAdhocItem.ui

Adhoc.pro contents…
unix {
UI_DIR = .ui
MOC_DIR = .moc
OBJECTS_DIR = .obj
}
FORMS = frmAdhocMain.ui \
frmAddAdhocItem.ui
TEMPLATE =app
CONFIG += qt warn_on release
LANGUAGE = C++

The question that I’ve got now is can I get Designer to open Adhoc.pro by default when it starts up?

Many thanks,

Gary

Added after 4 minutes: