PDA

View Full Version : function 'connect' always look super class for slots.

Intaek Lim
12th March 2007, 06:14
Hello, I'm a newbie to qt programming.
These days, I write a simple image viewer with qt4 on WinXP. My code mainly consists of MyWindow derived from QMainWindow, MyImageWidget derived from QWidget.

Creating objects and showing images are all good but there's a problem with SIGNAL-SLOT connection.

Menus and actions are made in MyWindow::createMenu() before that is shown.

QMenu *fileMenu = menuBar()->addMenu("File");
openAction = fileMenu->addAction("Open");
connect(openAction, SIGNAL(triggered()), this, SLOT(fileOpen()));
return true;

Of course, openAction is a member variable of MyWindow and fileOpen() is a member function of the same class.

When I run the compiled binary, everything seem to be good, but the menu does not work and there's a error message in console window like this:

"Object::connect: No such slot QMainWindow::fileOpen()""

In my opinion, Object::connect function tries to find 'fileOpen' function in QMainWindow. But that is defined in the child class!!

I took some alternatives but I could not find any solution.

Thanks in advance.

Intaek.

jpn
12th March 2007, 06:23
Hi, add Q_OBJECT (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/qobject.html#Q_OBJECT) macro to the declaration of the class and re-run qmake to re-generate required steps for moc in the makefile.

Intaek Lim
12th March 2007, 06:34
Thanks, but I tried that. But when I add that macro, there are some link errors. What library should I add?

error LNK2001: "public: virtual struct QMetaObject const * __thiscall TVMainWindow::metaObject(void)const " (?metaObject@TVMainWindow@@UBEPBUQMetaObject@@XZ) tvmainwindow.obj
error LNK2001: "public: virtual void * __thiscall TVMainWindow::qt_metacast(char const *)" (?qt_metacast@TVMainWindow@@UAEPAXPBD@Z) tvmainwindow.obj