PDA

View Full Version : Qt plugins in Visual Studio 2003

micson
13th March 2007, 18:53
Hello :)
First of all I have to say that I'm a newbie in Qt, so please forgive me lack of knowledge.:o

What I'm trying to do is to make Qt4 plugins in Visual Studio. I have no problems with typical applications, when I use vcapp template. But how (step by step) to create a plugin for my application? Even the easiest one (for i.e. Dialog window with a message)? Do I need to create another project with vclib template? Or can I use existing vcapp template with my application.
This plugin should be in a *.dll file. In my application I invoke plugin by pressing a button or menu item.

I really need help on this one :/ It's very important for me, any type of support is welcome.

jacek
13th March 2007, 20:00
Do I need to create another project with vclib template? Or can I use existing vcapp template with my application.
If you want to create a librrary, then IMO you should rather use vclib template.

stevey
14th March 2007, 04:14
First off, what sort of plugins are you creating?

To make a plugin for Qt Designer, you ultimately must create a plugin project using a .pro file with:
[code]
CONFIG += designer plugin debug_and_release
TEMPLATE = lib
[\code]
You can still build the custom designer widget in Visual C++ because it's just a dll in the end.
The actual designer plugin is separate from the component you're creating.

So, in Visual Studio implement a Qt library project.
You can test it within an 'application' project type to make sure it works as you expect.
Once all is cool, write your plugin code in a separate project (as per the QtAssistant topic of creating designer plugins), then write a .pro with the entries shown above and you're done.

Other Qt plugins tend to follow a similar pattern.

I hope this helps to clear the fog :)

Steve York

micson
14th March 2007, 19:11
Stevey - I don't use QtDesigner at all.