PDA

View Full Version : Bugs, style changes in 4.1.0?



simk
11th February 2006, 05:38
I have recently installed 4.1.0 (giving me now 3.3, 4.0.1 and 4.1.0) on my computer. I have noticed a few unpleasant changes between 4.0.1 and 4.1.0.

I have attached a small example that shows some of these changes:

- closing a dockwindow does not uncheck the checkbutton in the dockwindow popup menu. Only by unchecking it, and rechecking it will the dockwindow be shown again.

- the default style (colours, buttons - with the new buttons being badly defined, etc) has completely changed. Changing the style to windowxp or some other style doesn't make much difference. I have attached a couple of pics showing the difference between compiling with 4.0.1 and 4.1.0.

- I also get an "BadWindow" X error when closing the dialog with 4.1.0, which doesn't occur when using 4.0.1.

I was wondering if anyone else could compile the example and see if they find the same problems/differences?

Thanks.

Cesar
11th February 2006, 11:42
- closing a dockwindow does not uncheck the checkbutton in the dockwindow popup menu. Only by unchecking it, and rechecking it will the dockwindow be shown again.
Please see
QT bug#91825 (http://www.trolltech.com/developer/tasktracker.html?method=entry&id=91825)

simk
11th February 2006, 12:11
Okay, thanks for that - I did actually search on the Task Tracker first, but couldn't find any reference to it. I just didn't search properly, obviously.

What about the other issues?

dimitri
11th February 2006, 13:57
- the default style (colours, buttons - with the new buttons being badly defined, etc) has completely changed. Changing the style to windowxp or some other style doesn't make much difference. I have attached a couple of pics showing the difference between compiling with 4.0.1 and 4.1.0.
Which platform is this? The Windows XP style is not available on Linux. Changing the syle should make a difference - precisely by changing the style...


- I also get an "BadWindow" X error when closing the dialog with 4.1.0, which doesn't occur when using 4.0.1.
That could a problem in your program, have you tried debugging it? See for example:
About X Protocol Errors (http://www.lesstif.org/bugs.html#Protocol)

simk
12th February 2006, 06:42
Which platform is this? The Windows XP style is not available on Linux. Changing the syle should make a difference - precisely by changing the style...

I am, of course, using Linux, so you are right, the XP style isn't available. The Windows style is, however. And as I said, it doesn't make much of a difference. Obviously the style changes, but the colours/buttons etc are still different from the 4.0.1 compiled program. I would like to know why, and whether other people find the same or if it is only my computer, and therefore something to do with my installation.



That could a problem in your program, have you tried debugging it? See for example:
About X Protocol Errors (http://www.lesstif.org/bugs.html#Protocol)
There may be a problem with the program (I don't see how, it is very simple program), but that doesn't explain why I only receive the error with the 4.1.0 compiled program. I have also found that it doesn't occur when I give a different style on the command line (e.g. "-style=plastique" or "-style=windows"). I'm not exactly sure how to debug to find a "BadWindow" error, as it doesn't dump a core, or send a segmentation fault or anything.

wysota
12th February 2006, 11:32
I have also found that it doesn't occur when I give a different style on the command line (e.g. "-style=plastique" or "-style=windows").

So which is the "default" one for you?

simk
12th February 2006, 15:14
So which is the "default" one for you?
Motif - for both versions of the program, which I believe is the default on Unix systems.

wysota
12th February 2006, 18:20
So the bottom line is that when you use Motif, some custom colours are not displayed and the issue is not present with other styles, like Plastique or Windows. Right?

dimitri
12th February 2006, 20:46
There may be a problem with the program (I don't see how, it is very simple program),
Please post a minimal, compilable example.

but that doesn't explain why I only receive the error with the 4.1.0 compiled program. I have also found that it doesn't occur when I give a different style on the command line (e.g. "-style=plastique" or "-style=windows"). I'm not exactly sure how to debug to find a "BadWindow" error, as it doesn't dump a core, or send a segmentation fault or anything.
It could be something with Qt 4.1. Or it could be something with your program resulting in undefined behavior. It's hard to tell without some compilable, minimal example that reproduces the problem.

simk
13th February 2006, 00:49
Please post a minimal, compilable example.
I attached a small example to my original post. Here is the code again:

#include <QtGui>
#include <QMainWindow>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
QApplication app(argc, argv);

QMainWindow *mainWin = new QMainWindow;

mainWin->setMinimumSize(400, 400);

// Dock Windows
QDockWidget *dock = new QDockWidget("Test DockWindow 1", mainWin);
mainWin->addDockWidget(Qt::RightDockWidgetArea, dock);
dock->setMinimumSize(100, 10);

dock = new QDockWidget("Test DockWindow 2", mainWin);
mainWin->addDockWidget(Qt::BottomDockWidgetArea, dock);
dock->setMinimumSize(10, 100);

// Central widget
QFrame *frame = new QFrame(mainWin);
mainWin->setCentralWidget(frame);
QHBoxLayout *box = new QHBoxLayout(frame);

// two simple push buttons
QPushButton *pb = new QPushButton("Push Me!", frame);
box->addWidget(pb);
pb = new QPushButton("Me too!", frame);
box->addWidget(pb);

mainWin->show();
return app.exec();
}

simk
13th February 2006, 00:58
So the bottom line is that when you use Motif, some custom colours are not displayed and the issue is not present with other styles, like Plastique or Windows. Right?
Actually, no. If I use any style other than Plastique, the buttons/colours etc are completely different from the original (and even Plastique is worse in the 4.1.0 example). But the effect is most obvious with Motif, with the result being a completely unusable style, as you can see from the pictures I posted originally.

wysota
13th February 2006, 02:01
Here are screenshots from my system. I don't quite understand your colour problems, but maybe they'll help you in some way (they are all Qt4.1)...

simk
13th February 2006, 04:10
Here are screenshots from my system. I don't quite understand your colour problems, but maybe they'll help you in some way (they are all Qt4.1)...
Thanks for that. It looks as though the colour problem is with my installation only - could be the same with the "BadWindow" error as well.

I think the simplest solution is just to keep using 4.0.1 (on my much, much larger program, I have also had memory problems using 4.1). Thanks for your help.

wysota
13th February 2006, 12:05
Thanks for that. It looks as though the colour problem is with my installation only - could be the same with the "BadWindow" error as well.


No, I get that BadWindow error too.