PDA

View Full Version : Returning QPointer via function from one class to another, using the QPointer's data

pditty8811
19th March 2015, 03:21
I've declared a qpointer to a QLineEdit pointer called txtNewCareer in the class Populate. I have created a getter function in Populate so other classes can access that pointer. It is a dynamically created pointer that creates a QLineEdit, which I need to keep as dynamic and on the heap.

So, how do I appropriately call my getter function return_txtNewCareer()? I've had not problems returning regular pointers. But I am just learning how to use QPointers.
As you can see I'm trying to connect a signal of the QPointer txtNewCareer by calling the return_txtNewCareer function of class Populate, to a slot in mainwindow class.

Thanks.
This is a skeleton of my classes with the basic information of what I'm doing.

Populate.h

#include <QPointer>

public:
QLineEdit* return_txtNewCareer();

private:
QPionter<QLineEdit> txtNewCareer;

Populate.cpp

QPointer<QLineEdit> txtNewCareer = new QLineEdit

QLineEdit* Populate::return_txtNewCareer(){
return txtNewCareer;
}

mainwindow.cpp

connect(populate->return_txtNewCareer(), SIGNAL(textEdited(QString)), this, SLOT(txtNewCareer_edited(QString)));

I am unable to get the program to run. I have narrowed down the problem to the connect statement because I have commented it out and the program runs. When I run the program with the connect statement I get this Segmentation fault:

Signal name : SIGSEGV
Signal meaning : Segmentation fault

anda_skoa
19th March 2015, 09:06
Have you checked the result of the getter method?
Is it the pointer you expect?

Cheers,
_

d_stranz
19th March 2015, 16:50
QPointer<QLineEdit> txtNewCareer = new QLineEdit