PDA

View Full Version : SVG is slooooow!

Paul Drummond
11th February 2006, 22:08
Hi,

Has anyone else noticed the bad performance of the svgviewer example which comes with Qt4.1? If you zoom in a bit then scroll around, it's not very smooth.

Also, when swiching to the OpenGL renderer, there is no obvious improvement!

I don't understand why it's so slow (it's not my machine - I have tried this on three different machines now, 2 in Windows, 1 in Linux). The "affine" demonstration (the one which scales and rotates a vector penguin) is a smooth as it gets so why is the SVGViewer so bad???????

wysota
11th February 2006, 22:12
Because SVG is slow (complex) itself.

Paul Drummond
11th February 2006, 22:24
Because SVG is slow (complex) itself.

Is that the case? I have never used SVG before. I am starting to write a Map Viewer app for work and I thought I'd look at SVG because it's new in Qt4.1. I take it SVG is not the way to go then....

wysota
11th February 2006, 22:35
SVG is a vector format (scalable vector graphics) so rendering it to a bitmap is time consuming. I guess it won't be of much use for you to convert one vector format (the map) to another (svg) and then render it as a bitmap somewhere.

Paul Drummond
11th February 2006, 22:46
I don't want to convert it to a bitmap - is that what the SVGViewer is doing? I want to display Vector graphics on a QWidget - isn't that what the QSvgRenderer does?

Sorry if this sounds stupid - I am no graphics expert! :o

wysota
11th February 2006, 23:19
Displaying it on a widget means converting to a bitmap. After all, a widget is represented by a "picture" of the window and that "picture" consists of pixels.

Paul Drummond
11th February 2006, 23:27
Displaying it on a widget means converting to a bitmap. After all, a widget is represented by a "picture" of the window and that "picture" consists of pixels.