PDA

View Full Version : How to run my qt4 application programms(executables)



locus
28th March 2007, 07:31
I am using qt 4.2.0.

I notice that i am able to run my qt application programms in visual studio .net 2003 (with qt vs integration)

but if i double click on the executable file (project_name.exe) i get a message saying:


cannot start program as QtCored.dll cannot be found.


After the project is compiled in visual studio, can't the executable be run on its own, apart from the rest of the files in the project?

and are codes from qt libraries not added to the c++ code i write to produce one executable,

i don't understand this, please enlighten my darkness here.

thanks for your time and attention.

aamer4yu
28th March 2007, 07:49
Are ur paths set correctly ??

Also in 4.2 the file must be QtCored4.dll ... was the excutable also made in Qt 4.2.0 ?? or u copied some program and trying to run it ??

Eldritch
28th March 2007, 18:15
In the debugger environment, the Qt DLLs are located on your behalf. When you launch the app directly, it's relying upon the standard rules (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms682586.aspx) for locating DLLs.

So, what aamer4yu said, in short is true... Check your paths.

When I'm just doing quick & dirty testing, I often just copy the Qt DLLs I need next to the executable to run it.

Another alternative would be to use static libraries rather than dynamic ones.