PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions for a new application

Baldur
11th August 2015, 19:34
Good evening,

I'm still new to Qt (but good C++ knowledge) I've already created a small application with QML to get some basic experience, so I started to like QML and it's way to create UIs.

Now I want to start a more complex application and before I write tons of useless code I have to throw away, I wanted to ask for some suggestions from more experienced developers. Basically I want to know, if I should continue using QML for my UI or better use Qt Widgets.

The application should contain a main window with multiple documents organized in tabs. The documents contain various file types, so I need to change toolbars and menu entries depending on the currently selected tab/document. Also I want to support plugins, which should be able to provide additional toolbar elements, menu entries or dockable windows. I also need at least one custom widget to render some graphics with OpenGL.
I dont want to ask how to implement these things (I've already figured out some of them). I just want to ask, if I should prefer QML or widgets (or use a combination of them?) Are there advantages or disadvantages? For example, is it possible to write a custom OpenGL widget with C++ and use it in QML UIs? Can I inject submenu items from plugins in my main window's menu bar? Or is support for these things better in classic Qt?

Thanks for your help!

anda_skoa
11th August 2015, 22:30
For such a classic "desktop" style application I would always choose QtWidgets.

Cheers,
_

Baldur
12th August 2015, 02:15
For such a classic "desktop" style application I would always choose QtWidgets.

Cheers,
_

I don't think, answers like this are really helpful. You're telling me your opinion, but no explanation.
Could you please tell me, what you think are the main disadvantages of QML compared to Qt?