PDA

View Full Version : How to get QMainWindow position

sh_erfan
14th August 2015, 18:33
Hello
I am new to Qt
I have written a simple application and I want to get current position of the QMainWindow.
this is my code:

M::M(QWidget *parent) :
QMainWindow(parent),
ui(new Ui::M)
{
ui->setupUi(this);
QMessageBox msg;
msg.setText(QString::number("what returns the X or Y of the window?"));
msg.exec();
}

I searched a lot. There where topics about setting the position, not getting it.
I also tried geometry().x(), but it always returns 0 !!!
Please help me. I need this.
Best regards...

prasad_N
14th August 2015, 20:50
QWidget::mapToGlobal()

ars
14th August 2015, 21:35
Hello,

you ask too early for the window position (in the CTOR). Try overriding QMainWindow::moveEvent() and print the result of geometry() inside this function. You observe that moveEvent() gets called multiple times even without manually moving the window around.

Here is a code snippet:

void MainWindow::moveEvent(QMoveEvent *e)
{
QMainWindow::moveEvent(e);
QRect r = geometry();
std::cout << "moveEvent: ";
std::cout << "x = " << r.x() << ", y = " << r.y() << ", width = " << r.width() << ", height = " << r.height() << std::endl;
}

Running the application produces the following output:

CTOR: x = 0, y = 0, width = 400, height = 300
moveEvent: x = 0, y = 0, width = 400, height = 300
moveEvent: x = 808, y = 23, width = 400, height = 300

The line with CTOR shows the coordinates received when calling geometry in the contructor. Note that there are two calls to moveEvent().

You may also look at frameGeometry() and pos() methods. See http://doc.qt.io/qt-5.4/application-windows.html#window-geometry for details.

Best regards
ars

d_stranz
14th August 2015, 23:09