PDA

View Full Version : Very basic question on how to setup a QT quick checkbox.

philp
1st September 2015, 22:08
I am new to QT quick and am having difficulty understanding the basic sequence of how items are executed. Sorry if the question is so basic. I have worked my way through an example that has the date/time and weather information. The top level item is a Rectangle and it has a bool property called forceOffline. Now this property can be changed by either a Config button which brings up a dialog set of checkboxes (one of which modifies it) or a single button at the top level.
My problem is that if I tick the checkbox to change the forceOffline property and then use the single button to switch back and then go back to the dialog the checkbox remains checked. Sorry if I have not made this very clear. Below I have my checkbox item

import QtQuick 2.3

Item {
id: root
property bool checked: true
width: checkBox.width
height: checkBox.height

Image {
id: checkBox
source: root.checked ?
"../../content/resources/checkbox.png" :
"../../content/resources/draw-rectangle.png"
Keys.onPressed: {
if (event.key == Qt.Key_Return ||
event.key == Qt.Key_Enter ||
event.key == Qt.Key_Space)
root.checked = !root.checked;
}
MouseArea {
anchors.fill: parent
onClicked: {
root.checked = !root.checked;
}
}
}
}

I use code like

CheckBox {
id: offlineCheckBox
checked: root.forceOffline
KeyNavigation.up: secondsCheckBox
KeyNavigation.down: locationTextInput
}

to create an instance of the Checkbox. I thought that the binding of "checked: root.forceOffline" would ensure that the checkbox was correctly ticked or not depending on its boolean state. Can anybody help me understand this?
AS another quick question, when dealing with ordinary QT C++ you can always add a diagnostic to discover the current status of a variable. Not sure how you do this in QT quick..the closest I seem to be able to do is to do things like:

onForceOfflineChanged: {