PDA

View Full Version : Declare global array of a struct in another header file

persianpatient
14th September 2015, 16:17
Hi ,

I have a structure that defines something for example personal information , I have this struct in my Globals.h file , something like this :

struct Persons{
QString Name;
QString Email;
int Age;
QString Gender;
};

in Globals.cpp , I defined an array of this struct like this :

extern Persons myPers[100];

now , I have to use this array everywhere of my application , in different Threads , but I can not , I am new in c++ and QT , but I have basic knowledge of c++ programming , is my array definition correct ? is my structure definition correct , what is the safe and right way to use this array ?

Best Regards,
Amir .

yeye_olive
14th September 2015, 16:56
This is a general C++ question; it is not specific to Qt.

Your definition of struct Persons look correct.

The line

extern Persons myPers[100];
is not a definition, but a declaration. Along with the definition of struct Persons, it should appear in each source file (i.e. .cpp file) that needs to access the myPers array. It tells the compiler everything it needs to know about the array in order to use it, without actually allocating and initializing it. Instead of copying this line in every source file, people usually put it in a .h that they then #include in the .cpp file. You did just that with struct Persons by defining it in Globals.h; you could simply move the declaration of the array there.

Now, after the compiler has compiled all your .cpp files, it will try to link them together to form an autonomous executable. The linker will complain because no one has allocated the myPers array. You should therefore define the array somewhere in a .cpp file (and only there). The definition looks just like the declaration, but without extern:

Persons myPers[100];