PDA

View Full Version : How to populate a QTableView using data in a .txt file

newtoQ_s
22nd September 2015, 02:52
I am new to Qt, I am trying to populate a QTableView using data entered into a .txt file. It would be great if I can see an example of the same.
The viewer should basically be able to see all the data in the file in columns and rows in the table accordingly.
Ex- Col1, Col2 with 5 rows of data corresponding to each of the columns.

jefftee
22nd September 2015, 03:11
Read the data from your file line by line, parse into the individual columns, then you will use that data to populate your model. You can use QStandardItemModel or create your own subclass of QAbstractTableModel.

newtoQ_s
22nd September 2015, 08:25
Thanks, but I am having trouble understanding how to use QstandardItem model, because I am parsing the lines in the file, but unable to decide how best to use QStandardItem model. Forgive me if it is basic, but I am new to Qt
while(!file.atEnd()){
line=file.readLine();
line_data=line.split(";", QString::SkipEmptyParts);
QStandardItem item;
}

anda_skoa
22nd September 2015, 08:55
For each item in line_data you create a QStandardItem on the heap (using "new") and put it into a QList<QStandardItem*>.
Then you append this list to the QStandardItemModel using appendRow().

Cheers,
_

newtoQ_s
22nd September 2015, 09:20
Thanks,
But while trying to add the QstandardItemModel to the QTreeWidget
I am getting an error, because the setModel() function is private.
QStandardItemModel model(10,3);
while(!file.atEnd()){
line=file.readLine();
for(int j=0;j<line_data.size();j++){
QString m_prop=line_data.at(j);
QStandardItem *item=new QStandardItem(m_prop);
model.setItem(line_count,j,item);
}
line_count++;
}
}
ui->tableWidget->setModel(model);

anda_skoa
22nd September 2015, 09:32
Thanks,
But while trying to add the QstandardItemModel to the QTreeWidget
I am getting an error, because the setModel() function is private.

No, it is not.