PDA

View Full Version : Visual Studio compiling Qt code report LNK2019

threedts167
9th November 2015, 07:44
Hi, everybody.

I'm new to Qt and I'm currently working on a module of a project(an assignment of a course in my school). The UI is created using Qt (by another fellow in my group), so I have to use classes like QString and QDir and so on. But I'd like to use VS instead of QtCreator to do the coding since I'm not drawing the UI.

I downloaded the latest Qt 5.5 open-source version for Windows from its website. Its root folder is D:\Qt\5.5\msvc2013_64. Inside I found the "lib" folder with many ".lib" files and "include" folder with relevant headers. So I imported both of them into my VS project. And I added the "Qt5Cored.lib" to my VS project's "Additional Dependencies" option of the linker.

I wrote a very simple test to see if this configuration works. (Using QString and QDir).

But the linker constantly report LNK2019 on QString::QString and QDir::setPath and many other Qt's stuff.

What am I doing wrong or I simply can't do Qt-coding in VS without an add-in?

Thanks in advance.

ChrisW67
9th November 2015, 10:10
You need to match the compiler, bit-ness (is that a word?), and debug/release mode the Qt libraries were built with. The Qt5Cored.dll is a debug library and you have a 64-bit MS VC2013 version of Qt. Are you attempting to compile your program as a debug version with a 64-bit MSVC 2013?

threedts167
9th November 2015, 14:49
Yes I'm using 64-bit Windows and Visual Studio 2013 (I guess it's also 64-bit because I searched this and Microsoft doesn't provide 32 or 64 VS installer seperately.).

I'm compiling a Debug configuration of my program in Visual Studio 2013.