PDA

View Full Version : Begginers question

steve38
12th November 2015, 18:46
Hi Guys,

I recently started playing with QtDesigner (its fascinating) but why is it that when I preview my creation its got a totaly different theme ?

Cheers
Steve

anda_skoa
12th November 2015, 19:19
You can preview in any of the available styles.
I think by default it is using the style for the platform.

Cheers,
_

Radek
13th November 2015, 06:00
You can even select the style for the UI. Therefore
(1) When building the UI in the Designer, the Designer uses a "Designer style" with all tools needed for building.
(2) When previewing the UI in the Designer, the Designer uses a "real style" selected by you (or a default on the given platform). In fact, the result you see is a "real" window or dialog which you will see when you use the UI in your code.

steve38
13th November 2015, 13:24
OK... cool... so is it possible for me to get a nice looking window with rounded edges and the light blue shading on the top like the one I thought I was designing ? :p or am I stuck with the Eastern Block Prison style one that I get in the preview.

It seems odd to me that the designer should purposely display a misrepresentation of what you are designing unless you go to preview.. isnt that a little odd ?
Isnt that a little like putting your make=up on.. and then looking in the mirror to see if its a mess or not ?

Radek
13th November 2015, 15:09
As far as the color is concerned, yes, using a style sheet. As to the corners, I am not sure in the Designer - but, AFAIK, you can do it in your code.

The Designer does not display misrepresentation. Note that the Designer needs to support moving widgets, sizing them, organizing them in layouts, copying them, making space around them and so on. It needs some well defined "style" for it, so it uses one. The preview is really a window displayed in a certain style but the preview cannot be updated (except sizing the whole UI - like a window displayed by your app).