PDA

View Full Version : How to add extra space to binary/library to allow a longer pathname



kemp
6th April 2007, 13:17
Hi to all!

I have a problem when using install_name_tool (Mac OS X).
Everithing works fine except for one binary.

"install_name_tool: changing install names can't be redone for: /Library/LaunchDaemons/mydaemon (for architecture ppc) because larger updated load commands do not fit (the program must be relinked)"

There's no extra room compiled into the binary to allow for a longer pathname, so I have to compile the binary with an extra flag to allow for more room in the path.

Can somebody tell me what a flag this is and how to compile with this flag.

I am looking forward for your help.

Thanks for your help.

patrik08
6th April 2007, 18:01
Hi to all!

I have a problem when using install_name_tool (Mac OS X).
Everithing works fine except for one binary.

"install_name_tool: changing install names can't be redone for: /Library/LaunchDaemons/mydaemon (for architecture ppc) because larger updated load commands do not fit (the program must be relinked)"

There's no extra room compiled into the binary to allow for a longer pathname, so I have to compile the binary with an extra flag to allow for more room in the path.

Can somebody tell me what a flag this is and how to compile with this flag.

I am looking forward for your help.

Thanks for your help.

Whats happen wenn you use a script like ...
http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-qt-programming-2/t-bad-relink-libs-on-qt4-mac-osx-install-name-tool-6440.html
or
http://qtnode.net/wiki/Distributing_Mac_Qt_applications

i suppose xcode must use new .... i have the same problem ....

wenn i use this http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-qt-programming-2/t-bad-relink-libs-on-qt4-mac-osx-install-name-tool-6440.html
all go to apps dir ... but not relink corect .... if i rename my internal lib core ... app not start....

Mac user opinion .. touch..
how is the big apple...

kemp
7th April 2007, 14:19
Hi!

I will try the script when i get home, because i haven't got a mac or qt installed here.
Will send you a reply soon.

JonathanOSX
28th September 2007, 21:54
For posterity - I found this (unanswered) question today and thought I would throw up the answer:

Use -headerpad_max_install_names as an additional LD flag (in your XCode build settings).