PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Qt on Raspberry Pi 2



skypuppy
28th December 2015, 22:25
I've tried several different methods and just cannot get Qt to be happy on the RPi 2. Debian Jessie (Raspbian version) *says* it has QtCreator and the package even downloads. However, it gives an EGL (?) error even when started from the command line with qtcreator without Welcome; it will start but you can't actually DO anything with it. The icon version won't stat at all from their windowing system. Also, none of the examples or tutorials were loaded.

I tried recently to get source code download and compile locally, but that fails in many directions, too.

Suggestions, anyone?

If all else fails, running Qt natively on the Pi2, with what is there, can I run Qt on an AMD desktop computer (which does work, btw) and have the sensors hardware accessed by the Pi2 but windows show up on the PC? I barely know how to even begin that effort!

That's the goal: read those couple of sensors and show them to me. One is GPS, one is temp, and one is an IMU. The GPS only has serial output but the others are on the I2C bus.

Thanks!

<weeks of aggravating frustration trying to even get Qt working on any machine at home. Don't have a job.>

anda_skoa
29th December 2015, 09:16
Could be a driver issue.

Since OpenGL is only needed when using it explicitly or when using QtQuick, you could consider using QtWidgets as the UI technology for your app.

Cheers,
_

skypuppy
29th December 2015, 13:44
So how would I diagnose that? If diagnosis, then I could maybe find a solution on the web. However, with the DEARTH of usable (newbie-style) information out on the web, don't count on it. <sigh>

When I talked to the Qt people, their company price jumped from $3,000 to $4,500 to $6,000 and only includes one year of support --- AND THAT IS PER SEAT!!!!!! I could not justify or afford it at the $3k level, much less this latest price jump. Oh, if you want the full bang-up Qt including Boot to Qt on embedded, that is a mere $8,000 US.

Lordy, lordy.

anda_skoa
29th December 2015, 14:43
You could try running a different OpenGL application.

If that doesn't work either then the problem is at the system level.

Cheers,
_

P.S.: if you only need support/help, there's a couple of Qt consulting companies whcih even sell days or hour packages.

skypuppy
30th December 2015, 09:25
Who can afford that???

anda_skoa
30th December 2015, 10:39
Afford what?

Cheers,
_

skypuppy
30th December 2015, 10:46
[QUOTE=Afford what?

Cheers,
_[/QUOTE]


P.S.: if you only need support/help, there's a couple of Qt consulting companies whcih even sell days or hour packages.

anda_skoa
30th December 2015, 10:53
A lot of companies that use Qt for their products engage consulting providers for things such as fixing bugs in Qt, analyzing the program for performance issues, trainings, help with specific issues, architecture and code review, and so on.

Being able to go to experts when required is what makes Qt a mature eco system, as product companies often cannot easily build up the expert know-how themselves (after all their people are domain experts, not corner-case experts).

Cheers,
_