PDA

View Full Version : Understanding QAbstractTableModel::data() with QSqlQuery

ce_nort
6th April 2016, 19:30
Hello,
I'm fairly new to Qt and C++, and I'm having trouble understanding how exactly to populate a subclass of QAbstractTableModel with data from a QSqlQuery. Say for example I have a sql query that returns the itemID, description, and price for some number of items (data is from two joined tables, so QSqlTableModel will not work). Assume that I want to put the returned data in a QList<QSqlRecord> (as suggested in this post: http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/21144-Subclassing-QAbstractTableModel-Data-from-QSqlQuery ) and also assume I have a subclass of QAbstractTableModel called MyTableModel. Could someone please give me a brief example of what the MyTableModel::data function might look like and how it would be implemented? Should I pass the QList to the constructor for MyTableModel, the data function itself, or none of the above? Any tips would be much appreciated.

anda_skoa
6th April 2016, 19:48
You would probably have that QList as a member of the model.
If you pass it in at the constructor or if you make the model itself to the query is your choice, the second is closer to what the Qt SQL models would do.

In data you get the QModelIndex identifying the cell the view wants data for, so in your case the row() would be the index into the list and the column() which part of the record you have in that respective view column.
The role argument tells you which type of data the view is interested in, in the simplest case you just react to Qt::DisplayRole and return the cell's data, otherwise you just return an default constructed QVariant.

Cheers,
_

ChrisW67
6th April 2016, 19:51
Before you spend a lot of time on this, is there a reason that QSqlQueryModel is not a good solution or starting point?

ce_nort
6th April 2016, 19:57
Is data() automatically called at some point, or do I need to call it myself?