PDA

View Full Version : QTcpSocket - Cannot create children for a parent that is in a different thread

Begginer
17th April 2016, 00:17
Hello,
I am new to QT.
In my project I have QTcpServer with multithreading. I need to implement that when server recieve something from one client(client is GUI aplication), send it to all clients except the one who sent data. Problem occurs when I call socket->write(data) in function sendToAllClients() in server.cpp. I got following:
QObject:Cannot create children for the parent that is in different thread qt.

Could anyone please help me with this. I was searching about on google, but whatever I tried it doesn't work.
Thanks a lot.

My code is below:

mythread.cpp

MyThread::MyThread(qintptr ID, QObject *parent) :
QThread(parent)
{
this->socketDescriptor = ID;
this->disconnectedSocket=-1;
}

void MyThread::run()
{
socket = new QTcpSocket();

if(!socket->setSocketDescriptor(this->socketDescriptor))
{
emit error(socket->error());
return;
}

connect(socket, SIGNAL(readyRead()), this, SLOT(readyRead()), Qt::DirectConnection);
connect(socket, SIGNAL(disconnected()), this, SLOT(disconnected()));

exec();
}

void MyThread::readyRead()
{
readyToRead=true;

if(readyToRead==true)
emit ReadyToReadAllSockets(); //ReadyToReadAllSockets() is signal I wrote to make connection between thread and server.

}

server.cpp

Server::Server(QObject *parent) :
QTcpServer(parent)
{
connect(this,SIGNAL(newConnection()),this,SLOT(num OfClients()));

}

void Server::incomingConnection(qintptr socketDescriptor)
{
clients_list.append(socketDescriptor);
MyThread *thread = new MyThread(socketDescriptor, this);
threads.append(thread);
connect(thread, SIGNAL(finished()), thread, SLOT(deleteLater()));
connect(thread, SIGNAL(finished()), this, SLOT(clientDisconnect()));
connect(thread, SIGNAL(finished()), this, SLOT(removeClientFromList()));
connect(thread, SIGNAL(ReadyToReadAllSockets()), this, SLOT(sendToAllClients()));

thread->start();

}