PDA

View Full Version : Serail Port GUI

ShaChris23
17th April 2007, 17:50
Hi people,

I'm an experienced C++ programmer, wanting to do GUI for the first time. I decided to go with Qt 4.2.3 because of its documentation and because it's a commercial product.

I have written a back-end C++ program that reads GPS, and other modules data via multiple serial ports using Posix threads Win32 and a simple CSerial library, and now I would like to display the data read on the GUI.

I have done the Qt tutorial, etc...but I dont feel like the tutorial really preps you for the things I'm doing..does anyone have a sample app that display values that are changed via other I/O not from the GUI? (i.e. data constantly changing because of serial port incoming data not because the user clicks something.)

Since there are multiple threads, I would think there needs to be a mutex around the displayed data ...doesnt it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I actually have more questions but I guess I will just start off like this.

I'm really excited to be able to do GUI with Qt. Hopefully, in the future I would be able to learn other aspects of Qt as well.

high_flyer
17th April 2007, 18:10
Welcome to Qt! :)
Since you are not trying to do any I/O with Qt, there is no problem what so ever for you.
There are many ways do to what you are asking.
Try to be more specific with your questions -> in regard to what it is you do not understand, and show what you already tried.
This will help us help you better.

fullmetalcoder
17th April 2007, 18:18
it's a commercial product.
Not only and that's probably on of its major advantages... :) But I guess that's not really the point here...:rolleyes:

I have written a back-end C++ program that reads GPS, and other modules data via multiple serial ports using Posix threads Win32 and a simple CSerial library, and now I would like to display the data read on the GUI.