PDA

View Full Version : Threading, separate GUI and worker stuf

P51D
13th June 2016, 22:14
Hi

I'm new to qt, so this could be a standard question.
I've a GUI to do some conficuration for a external hardware (connected over ethernet) and to display some results. The device could be initialized and then enabled for streaming (~1GBit/s). Depending on the used hardware driver I've to repaket de received data. So there would be a lot of stuff to do.

My question now is, how to share the data between the threads. The GUI contains all information for the device iniziaalization (about 30 variables, strings and double). But the worker thread has the result (1024 double each 20ms).

What is the best methid to deal with that? Mutex, signal/slot, message queue, gate keeper...
I would also be able to trigger some functions from the worker: for example if I change a value un the GUI, it has also to be changed on the device with the driver functions...

I hope my problem is clear.
Best regards,
P51D

jefftee
14th June 2016, 06:20
You didn't provide much detail regarding what you need to do once you receive data. The Qt networking classes operate asynchronously and if you're using the TCP/IP protocol, you may find that you don't even need a worker thread. If UDP, you'll find that you lose/miss UDP packets at high volumes, but depending on your application, that may be completely acceptable, after all UDP is designed as a connection-less protocol and doesn't guarantee delivery of packets in a certain sequence, or even at all for that matter.

Without much more detail to go on, I'd suggest that you first try use using Qt networking classes asynchronously. If that doesn't work for your app, then use Qt's signal/slot mechanism to pass data back and forth between your GUI thread (main thread) and your worker thread. By default, Qt will use queued connections, which work great when messaging between worker and main threads.

Good luck.

anda_skoa
14th June 2016, 09:26