PDA

View Full Version : QSortFilterProxyModel Crashing with QTableView when Row Changed

TabletopLaptop
14th June 2016, 18:25
I am new to Qt, so this could be an error on my end. I am having a strange issue with my application where when I change a row of the table to something that would now be filtered out of the table by the QSortFilterProxyModel, the application crashes. I have attached my code as I think it is pretty minimal test case.

Ways to cause crash:
1. "search" filtering
a. type amy in search bar
b. edit customer name, change to henry
c. click away and it will crash
2. "open job" filtering
a. be on open jobs tab
b. change status of job to 8
c. click away and it will crash

I believe the crash is an index out of bounds on a vector that occurs when the filter removes that row from the table. I have no idea how to make it have this behavior without crashing.

The relevant code is in the MainWindow constructor.

Any help is much appreciated.

jefftee
16th June 2016, 16:07
Let me preface my comments by stating that I have never attempted what you appear to be doing, which is having multiple QSortFilterProxyModel's chained/used. Not saying it shouldn't work, but right off the bat it seems odd to me... :) Is there a reason your OpenJobSortFilterProxyModel isn't used for both the sorting and filtering you're trying to achieve by instead attempting to use using multiple QSortFilterProxyModel's?

I believe because you're using multiple views with multiple QSortFilterProxyFilter's that all have the same underlying data model, that is why your app is crashing. I would suggest that you simplify and once you get that working, and only then add in complexity.

For example, take one of your views, use one QSortFilterProxyFilter subclass for the QSqlModel data model. Make that work without failing, then try to add in additional functionality.

Good luck.

d_stranz
16th June 2016, 16:35