PDA

View Full Version : Passing ACTUAL variable to a new class, getting wrong value

trainer92
21st August 2016, 20:54
Hello everyone, I'm new to QT/C++ and I'm probably missing something essential and I can't make it to work.

I explain a bit.

I have 2 classes (*MainWindow.cpp/.h* and *SimulationTask.cpp/.h*).

MainWindow got a Menu that's using some variables to load via SQL the info.
Once user has clicked the last item on the list, it loads from SQL database a string with the name of our new variable, called tablename.

Now we have a second window, called SimulationTask that needs the variable tablename, but every time I use it, it uses it with its default value defined in mainwindow.h, instead of the actual value, as we did get in our mainwindow.cpp.

The code is long already, I will show you the essential parts so you can contrast.

//Get table method(at MainWindow.cpp)

QString MainWindow::getTableName()

connOpen();
QSqlQuery query;
query.prepare("SELECT candata_table,bitrate "
"FROM system_list, maker_data "
"WHERE system_list.specific_id=maker_data.specific_id "
"AND system_list.specific_id="
"(SELECT maker_data.specific_id FROM maker_data WHERE maker_data.manufacturer='"+varmnf+"' AND maker_data.model='"+varmodel+"' AND maker_data.year='"+varyear+"')");
query.exec();
query.first();
connClose();
tablename = query.value(0).toString();

qDebug() << (query.lastQuery());

return tablename;

If I call it on my MainWindow.cpp class, in a pushbutton for example, it does load values in Sql query (**varmnf , varmodel, varyear**) perfectly and it returns tablename without problem, but if I call it from my simulationTask.cpp, it get initializacion values for varmnf , varmodel, varyear, so obviously, the query doesnt throw any result, and tablename either.

#include "mainwindow.h"
//TABLE NAME (at simulationstask.cpp)
MainWindow mainwindow;

mainwindow.getTableName(); // --> This is returning tablename = ''
qDebug() << ("Hello");
qDebug() << (tablename);