PDA

View Full Version : General build/deploy guidance for Pi and general open source release

Linwood
16th November 2016, 17:41
I am fairly new to the unix/open source world, and would appreciate some advice.

I have a Qt application that is intended for the Pi (or similar device). I develop and test on a distro version of Qt/Qtcreator on a VM Ubuntu, and then move the source to my Pi (3B), change the .pro file slightly for paths (changing x86_64-linux-gnu to arm-linux-gnueabihf), run qmake/make to compile on the Pi from distro versions there, and it all works.

I did it this way because it was relatively simple, since there were matching distro versions on both platforms.

But in reading I see lots of advice about not moving projects between platforms, instead to cross compile. Which might (or might not) fix my path issue above.

And maybe I can fix the path issue with some of the substitutable macros, have not tried hard. I do see that the testable values like "win32" and "unix" do not seem to include flavor conditionals like arm vs x86_64.

So my real question is: if I plan to open source this, is there a general philosophy of how it gets built for the Pi that is more... normal? That may be less problematic for others to sue?

Or am I even asking the right question -- maybe I should be changing my project so it ought to work regardless, and need to be exploring those path issues and not assuming cross compiling would magically fix it?

(At present the project, suitably edited, compiles fine on either platform but I have made no effort to build a cross compile environment)?

Is there a good "For those about to offer an open source QT project" checklist somewhere - basically a "how to make life easier for someone who might want to use this but may be in a completely different environment?"

anda_skoa
17th November 2016, 10:08