PDA

View Full Version : qmake project on command line, no errors, but no output also



Cremers
28th November 2016, 15:30
Hello,

Question for the linux c gurus. Hopefully someone can help me.

I am porting some commandline projects to a backup machine.

This is on ubuntu 16.04 with latest qt 4.8.7 on a 32 bit machine
I have a project with a .pro file
I do qmake, then i do make -B, it compiles without errors but there is no output file generated.

On a 64 bit machine with previous ubuntu 14.04 / qt 4.8.1 it works great.

Thanks.

faizol
28th November 2016, 18:26
Hi,

This might not be the same problem, but have you checked this link?
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/30583577/qt-qdebug-not-working-with-qconsoleapplication-or-qapplication

If that wasn't the case, perhaps it would be helpful if there's more details about the problem?

cheers,

Cremers
28th November 2016, 19:09
Hi
Thanks for trying to help.
I did not see anything on that page you mentioned that i think is relevant.

I just tried on ubuntu 16.04 64bit in a virtual machine, there it compiles fine, just like on ubuntu 14.04 64bit.
So my guess now is that it is somehow related to that 32bit machine.

Well, what details can i give? It's a simple .pro file with some .c and some .h
On 64bit machines qmake/make produce an executable, on a 32bit machine it does not.


TEMPLATE = app
TARGET =
DEPENDPATH += .
INCLUDEPATH += .
QT -= gui

# Input
HEADERS += swedate.h \
swedll.h \
swehouse.h \
swejpl.h \
swenut2000a.h \
sweodef.h \
swepcalc.h \
sweph.h \
swephexp.h \
swephlib.h \
swemptab.c
SOURCES += swecl.c \
swedate.c \
swehel.c \
swehouse.c \
swejpl.c \
swemmoon.c \
swemplan.c \
swemptab.c \
swepcalc.c \
swepdate.c \
sweph.c \
swephlib.c \
swetest.c

d_stranz
28th November 2016, 23:37
You have a 32-bit version of Qt installed?

You are sure you don't have flags set to build 64-bit object files?

And you get no error output from the command line make invocation? It just silently goes about its business and produces nothing?

I don't see any file named "main.c". Is main() defined in one of your other source files?

Cremers
29th November 2016, 07:29
Hi,
Yes it's weird, don't you think? :)
You can see the .pro file above, that's all i use for qmake/make, nothing else, so no flags and indeed no main.c
Qt on that machine comes from apt-get so i bet it's 32 bit. On all 64bit machines i have it compiles as it should.
I have a another 64bit machine, i'm going to make it dual boot and use that as a server backup.

anda_skoa
29th November 2016, 12:20
The main() function could be in any of the source files.

What I find puzzling is that these seem to be C files. I.e. files ending with .c are usually passed to the C compiler (e.g. gcc on Linux), usually they won't compile at all if they contain C++ code.

In any case have a look at the compile step output, the compiler calls are usually very explicit where the output file is.

Cheers,
_

Cremers
29th November 2016, 14:27
Oh sorry, there is a main() function, but no main.c, i misunderstood your answer.
Meanwhile that pc has been completely moved to the trash bin, must have been more that 15 years old.
But the problem is gone, i have a dual boot on another spare pc.
Thanks for the help though.