PDA

View Full Version : I want to get a job

andylow
26th April 2007, 05:36
Congratulations for your site. I am a graduate major in computer network. Now I want to get a job related to my major and have seeked help from career builder and resume writting, but I cann't find suitable positions, can you tell me which resources are suitable for me, or any other companies requiring my major? Thanks.

thawkins
30th April 2007, 16:37
Are you looking for a job in the US? If so, are you a US citizen? I'm just wondering because if you aren't a US citizen then you'll have to deal with the whole H1-B thing, and that could make the job search more tricky.

First thing is the resume. I've worked with HR people before and I can tell you the biggest red flag I've ever seen when handed technical resumes is inaccurate (think fraudulent) information or resumes that are so brief that they poorly sell a candidate. Remember, technical resumes are an extension of you and really are the primary way to getting an interview. I was told once that a single HR person may process like 10 applications for every one they call for an interview, so you literally have a very small chance to make an impression. I would recommend making several resumes tailored to specific areas you want to get into (one for programming, one for systems, etc). Also, I would have several technical and non-technical people give the resumes the once over for everything from grammar to completeness.

If you have a decent relationship with your professors, ask them if they have any good contacts. A lot of times CS/engineering professors also work in the private sector, or have significant contacts in that sector. Networking is by far the biggest resource to finding a job.

There are several decent job boards. I would say take a look at the following job boards:

dice.com
monster.com
computerjobs.com