PDA

View Full Version : Using model with different views

Wallabee19
24th April 2017, 04:06
I've been working with Qt for a few months now and am still having some trouble with understanding the model view architecture. I have some data structure of the following form (I use PyQt5):

class MyData:
def __init__(self):
self.name = "Item 1"
self.value = "Value 1"

# List of lists
self.attributes = [
["Attr 1", "100", "560", "300", "1200"]
,["Attr 2", "50", "40", "470", "20"]
,["Attr 3", "75", "30", "30", "100"]
,["Attr 4", "300", "300", "280", "400"]
]

I want to display this data in two different views. (read only) The 'name' and 'value' attributes in one view ( 2 columns ). And the list of attributes in another view ( 5 Columns ) when whichever item in the first view is selected. I threw together a quick representation of what I want in Qt Designer:

Ideally I would like to use a single model (QAbstractItemModel, or maybe even just QAbstractTableModel?) I believe a main model and two Proxy models are probably the way to do this? With the proxy models having their own reimplementation of headerData(). But how does that work then with columnCount()? Do I have to reimplement that as well in each proxy? Here is somewhat pseudocode of what my current main model looks like:

class MyModel(QAbstractItemModel):
def __init__(self, parent=None)
super(MyModel, self).__init__(parent)
self.myData = [] # List of MyData() instances

def columnCount(self, parent):
# Do I have to check which view is requesting the column count?

if firstView:
return 2
else:
return 5

def rowCount(self, parent):
if firstView:
return len(self.myData)
else:
return len(self.myData[parent.row()].attributes) # ??

def flags(self, index):
return Qt.ItemIsEnabled | Qt.ItemIsSelectable

def headerData(self, section, orientation, role):
pass # Reimplemented in each proxy model?

def parent(index):