PDA

View Full Version : Need to fetch data from a Bash Script and display in a QT app.

Aveek
22nd June 2018, 16:03
Hi,

I am very new to QT application programming. I need an urgent help.

The main idea / intenTion is to convert my bash script to some application with UI. My bash script currently looks like below:

echo "Listing the Devices connected over USB"
system_profiler SPUSBDataType | egrep 'SomeName [A-Za-z0-9]+:'
read device_name

device_serial_number=$((system_profiler SPUSBDataType) | (sed -n "/$device_name/,/Serial/p") | (grep "Serial Number:") | (awk -F ": " '{print $2}'))

echo "The Device Serial Number is: "
echo $device_serial_number

exit
fi

The script basically gives the list of USB connected devices and displays the same in the terminal. So now I need to convert the same into a UI based application which will run exactly the same command and display the list in the QT Application UI.

Need suggestions on how to implement the same.

Regards,
Aveek

d_stranz
22nd June 2018, 17:12
Use QProcess to execute your bash script. Before you start the execution of the script, use QProcess::setReadChannel() to connect stdout to the process read channel. Connect a slot to the QProcess::readyReadStandardOutput() signal. When your bash script is done executing, QProcess will emit that signal, and you can then read the contents of stdout that have been captured using QProcess::readAllStandardOutput().

Aveek
23rd June 2018, 07:47
Hi,

I am tried to do something like this:

void MainWindow:: on_pushButton_clicked()
{
QProcess proc;
proc.start("/bin/bash", QStringList() << "-c" << cmd);
proc.execute("system_profiler SPUSBDataType | egrep 'Lex [A-Za-z0-9]+:'");

proc.waitForFinished();

QByteArray output = proc.readAll();
proc.close();

QTextEdit *txt = new QTextEdit();

txt->setText(output);
txt->show();
}

This is giving me the data. Do you see any problem in doing it this way?

Secondly how can I execute commands like this: