PDA

View Full Version : Custom itemClicked() for QTableWidget

Malorn44
11th March 2019, 15:02
I'm trying to create a custom class for QTableWidget where when clicking on a cell (or eventually just pressing the mouse down over a cell) it changes the background color.
This is what I have so far... it's fairly simple but it doesn't work yet and I'm not sure what I'm missing. Sorry, I'm new to the Qt environment.

Excerpt from mainwindow.cpp

int row = 10;
int col = 10;

// set the amount of rows and columns
ui->board->setRowCount(row);
ui->board->setColumnCount(col);

// remove table headers
ui->board->horizontalHeader()->setVisible(false);
ui->board->verticalHeader()->setVisible(false);

// table styling
ui->board->setFocusPolicy(Qt::NoFocus);
ui->board->setSelectionMode(QAbstractItemView::NoSelection);
// ui->board->setStyleSheet("selection-background-color: transparent");
ui->board->setEditTriggers(QAbstractItemView::NoEditTriggers) ;

// set fixed column and row width
for (int i = 0; i < row; i++)
ui->board->setRowHeight(i, 50);
for (int i = 0; i < col; i++)
ui->board->setColumnWidth(i, 50);

// populate with items
for (int i = 0; i < row; i++) {
for (int j = 0; j < col; j++) {
ui->board->setItem(i, j, new QTableWidgetItem);
}
}

excerpt from table.h

#include <QTableWidget>
class Table : public QTableWidget
{
public:
Table(QWidget *parent = nullptr) {}

Q_SIGNALS:
void itemClicked(QTableWidgetItem *item);

};

excerpt from table.cpp

#include "table.h"

void Table::itemClicked(QTableWidgetItem *item) {
item->setBackground(Qt::red);
}

anda_skoa
11th March 2019, 16:40
itemClicked() is a signal

If you want to react to a signal you connect it to a slot.
See QObject::connect().

Cheers,
_

Malorn44
11th March 2019, 19:31
I'm sorry. I'm a little confused as to how the connect works and how I'd put that into my code. Do I need to override anything?
What exactly do I need to include to modify the click behavior?