PDA

View Full Version : Using QProcess to capture stdout from statically linked library

earlyriser01
18th April 2019, 17:06
Hi all, so I built a simple HelloWorld static library and I want to use it in a GUI application (I named it GUI_stuff - poor name choosing I know..).
My static library has one function (this whole task is for training purposes) that prints a greeting to the console and returns nothing.
I found one way to use QProcess and the GUI_stuff executable to capture the HelloWorld static library output and redirect it to a QLabel.
However, I've been instructed to "fix" this -- i.e. don't rerun GUI_stuff in a child process and just capture the output from the static library.
I've searched high and low in the Qt forums and stackoverflow and have just tried about every solution - don't really know how to go about this.
I'm rather new to Qt as well.

Here is my .pro file:

QT += core gui

greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets

QT += webenginewidgets

TARGET = GUI_stuff
TEMPLATE = app

# The following define makes your compiler emit warnings if you use
# any feature of Qt which has been marked as deprecated (the exact warnings
# depend on your compiler). Please consult the documentation of the
# deprecated API in order to know how to port your code away from it.
DEFINES += QT_DEPRECATED_WARNINGS

SOURCES += \
main.cpp \
mainwindow.cpp

HEADERS += \
mainwindow.h

FORMS += \
mainwindow.ui

win32:CONFIG(release, debug|release): LIBS += -L$$PWD/lib/release/ -lHelloWorld
else:win32:CONFIG(debug, debug|release): LIBS += -L$$PWD/lib/debug/ -lHelloWorld
else:unix: LIBS += -L$$PWD/lib/ -lHelloWorld

INCLUDEPATH += $$PWD/.
DEPENDPATH += $$PWD/.

win32-g++:CONFIG(release, debug|release): PRE_TARGETDEPS += $$PWD/lib/release/libHelloWorld.a
else:win32-g++:CONFIG(debug, debug|release): PRE_TARGETDEPS += $$PWD/lib/debug/libHelloWorld.a
else:win32:!win32-g++:CONFIG(release, debug|release): PRE_TARGETDEPS += $$PWD/lib/release/HelloWorld.lib