View Full Version : Inline functons causing Havoc
sunil.thaha
7th January 2006, 13:05
I couldn't figure it out why the inline setMessage( ... ) is causing link error ?
Please see the source attached
jacek
7th January 2006, 15:45
Calls to such functions are replaced* by those functions' code, therefore their definition must be accessible during compilation --- you can't add inline functions in the linking stage.
If you want to use inline methods you must move them to .h files.
Thread.h:14: warning: inline function `void Thread::setMessage(const QString&)' used but never defined
* Compilers threat inline keyword as a hint, so they might ignore in some cases.
sunil.thaha
11th January 2006, 13:08
Do u mean that i shouldn't write inline function in .cpp ?:confused:
jacek
11th January 2006, 13:13
Do u mean that i shouldn't write inline function in .cpp ?:confused:
Yes, unless you plan to use it only within that .cpp file.
sunil.thaha
12th January 2006, 07:22
Thanks A lot
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2023 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.