PDA

View Full Version : How to to overwrite lines in text file in Qt

Anamika s
23rd September 2020, 06:36
Hi All,
i am new to Qt.

i am creating the file in and logging some data to file every time some data is available.
but issue is once i reach max file size defined for file and new data is available then i have to move the first line and overwrite the data in line 1 with new data i am not able to move to first line and it is appending at the last always.

example:
once i reach the max file size and currently the cursor position is at the end of the file then cursor position should be moved to 1st line and new data has to be replace with data in 1st line after replacing the data the cursor should be move to 2nd line in the file.
to achieve this i am using seek() function to move to line but still i am not able to write data it is always

How can i move to first line and overwrite the data?

Thank you,

Regards,
Anamika

Lesiok
23rd September 2020, 08:47
The lines are the same or different length ?
What does it mean "i am not able to write data" ?

Anamika s
23rd September 2020, 09:07
the lines are of different length.

i mean, i am not able to reset the data at the particular line and write new data in that line.

Lesiok
23rd September 2020, 09:32
The file is just a string. Since the lines have different lengths, If you want to change the content of the first line, you have to:
1. Open a new file with a new name.
2. Write the first line to it.
3. Rewrite the remaining lines from the old file.
4. Delete the old file.
5. Rename the new file to the old name.

In my opinion, such a solution to the log makes no sense.

Anamika s
23rd September 2020, 09:45
Thank you for your response.
i am trying to rephrase my question
I am creating the file and logging errors into the file every time when error occurs in the system.