PDA

View Full Version : Why C++?

Masih
24th July 2007, 05:25
Obvious by my posts I am an absolute beginner in OO programming. Back to school I solved my necessary computational tasks all by MATLAB. When I started working in an institute I understood not being able to use Visual C++ is like being an amputee (at least there). If something was about simulation or theory thing then MATLAB sufficed but if I wanted to do something practical then I needed C++ or MFC or something like that! That's why I am trying to learn Qt. But still there is a big question mark for me. Why C++?
There are bunch of other languages out there, probably easier to learn and handle. What makes C++ the first choice at least in the field of sensing and control?
I was reading this article today and was amazed and confused by the sentences from the founder of C++.http://members.safe-t.net/jwalker/programming/interview.html
Was he joking?

Regards,

marcel
24th July 2007, 06:05
Well, that interview is on the internet for some time and most likely not true.
It's somebody's lame attempt to bring down not only C++ but object oriented programming also.

It's probably one of those narrow minded assholes who never managed to understand c++ or oop, and he does a lot of hard core programming in .NET.

Or it was simply a joke...

Either way, Qt is written in C++ because it is :). I can't give you the real reason. Probably because C++ is very flexible and allowed the framework to reach the point where it is today.

Regards

Michiel
24th July 2007, 17:14
C++ has its advantages.

It's compiled, not interpreted. This is faster at runtime.
It has OOP, which is a big plus when working on bigger projects. (And I use it whenever I can.)
It's still mostly backwards compatible with C, which is handy for most veterans.
It's supported everywhere. There are many programmers with experience. It has libraries like Qt. So it's practical at the moment.