PDA

View Full Version : qt debug on ubuntu



yaron
25th July 2007, 17:38
Hi,

I have Ubuntu 7.04 and I have both the release and debug versions of qt4 installed. However, when I build my project, it seems to use the release version of qt4. How can I make it use the debug version so that I can debug inside qt?

marcel
25th July 2007, 19:00
When you say versions you mean two different installations?
Because this is what I understand.

In this case, set the QTDIR to point to the debug version.
Also, make sure the PATH variable is not hardcoded, in the sense it should be:
PATH=$QTDIR/bin;$PATH;

Regards

jpn
25th July 2007, 20:08
If you want to build an app with debugging information, type:

qmake -config debug
and rebuild the app. :)

yaron
25th July 2007, 21:30
marcel,
Ubuntu 7.04 contains (binary) packages of Qt4 for both debug and release. The release package (e.g. of Qt4 core) is called "libqt4-core" and the debug package is called "libqt4-debug". Both install the libraries in the same location "/usr/lib", but the release package contains libraries with names like "libQtCore.so.4.2.3" whereas the debug version contains libraries with names like "libQtCore.so.4.2.3.debug". Btw QTDIR isn't defined at all, but I don't think it (or PATH) could help me in this case because the directories are the same...

jpn,
I already use that option but it seems to only make it compile my own code with debugging information, rather than use the debug version of qt4.

Any ideas?

defunct
3rd March 2008, 22:17
I'm having the same problem as yaron. Can anyone help?

Thanks!
-d