PDA

View Full Version : handling XClientMessageEvent

qtdev18
14th August 2007, 22:55
I'm new to Qt, so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I'm using Qt on Linux. My application gets sent XClientMessageEvent from another application. How does Qt handle these events? Do they get converted to a QCustomEvent?

marcel
15th August 2007, 04:52
Reimplement QWidget::x11Event(XEvent*) and catch it there.

Regards

qtdev18
15th August 2007, 15:47
What if I can't reimplement QWidget::x11Event since the widget is actually created by someone else - I simply get a pointer to a QWidget.

My application (or rather library) has a QObject-derived class which holds a pointer to the QWidget and calls installEventFilter on it. I have reimplemented QObject::eventFilter, but from what I can see, that only works for QEvent, not XClientMessageEvent.

jpn
15th August 2007, 16:07
Perhaps QApplication::x11EventFilter() then?

qtdev18
15th August 2007, 17:38
Same problem - someone else creates QApplication as well!

marcel
15th August 2007, 18:14
Could you be more specific?
Do you have a library, or what?

How do you use the QApplication that is already created by someone else?

Regarding your QObject which you use as an event filter... Couldn't you turn it into a QWidget?

jpn
15th August 2007, 18:20
I think QApplication::x11EventFilter() and QWidget::x11Event() are the only possibilities to access native X11 events. Further than that they get translated as Qt events.

qtdev18
15th August 2007, 19:52
To clarify (hopefully):